top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJamie-Paige

SINGLESOURCE ARTICLE

Updated: Feb 11, 2020

By Jamie-Paige Tucker

Qualifications or quality in experiences?

Seventeen-year olds all around the country are currently preparing their personal statements and visiting campus’ in every county. So why is it that University is now pushed on young people? Our parent’s generation weren’t forced to believe it’s the best option for them, so why are we?


In our current day, everyone knows that a degree goes a long way when trying to get your dream job. But it isn’t necessarily the only option available to them. Unfortunately, youths in generation-Z are made to feel inadequate if they decide to not further their education. But does this have an affect on those who decide that a degree isn’t for them?


Emily Brown is a twenty-one-year-old from Cambridgeshire who decided very early on in her education that university wasn’t the best next step for her. So, has she missed out on the opportunity for a better future? Well she doesn’t believe so…

Emily mentioned straight away that she has no regrets about the decisions she’s made since leaving school: “not going was the best choice for me personally, I have no idea where I want to be in life or what I want to do. So, there was no point studying a course at uni that I’m not interested in. I’d much rather be able to afford experiences while I have the opportunity to do them”


But what put her off the idea of university all together? “after I did college, I decided I did not want to carry on my education because my college course was cancelled, and rather than starting another one or trying something new I just wanted to start earning.” Emily explained, “I just wanted to get a job. I had a car I needed to run, and I needed money. So, a job was my first priority.”


There must have been something that took her interest though? School can’t have all been that bad. Emily then highlighted a huge passion of hers, that she picked up from a young age: “My main interest has always been performing arts. I went to Cambridge Regional College to study it, before the course was cancelled” Emily stated, “I always loved it, before college I was a part of ‘Viva’ which is a local theatre company. And that’s what I wanted to do, but I knew realistically there wasn’t a career for me in that, despite how much I enjoyed it”.


However, Emily didn’t give up on her future. She got a job straight out of college and has worked her way up within the massive conglomerate and huge coffee chain, Starbucks: “I am now a shift supervisor, a role I was given at only eighteen. I get to run the store while the manager is not in and I’m on the road to becoming the manager of my own store one day.” Emily explained her role to me, and as she said it you can tell she’s proud of herself, as she should be. Gaining a managerial role at such a young age is an achievement anyone would be proud of.


University isn’t just about education, but it’s about opportunity. Emily pointed out that she’s not lacking in those either: “I am also getting the opportunity to go travelling, which I would not be able to do if had gone to study. In February I’m travelling to Australia, and then moving on to South-East Asia, which I would not be able to afford and wouldn’t have the time to do properly. This is something I’m passionate about and wouldn’t have been able to accomplish if I had gone on to continue studying” In fact, Emily said she feels like she’s having more opportunities by not going on to further her education.


The part Emily does feel like she lost, isn’t what most people worry about when not going to university: “I missed the social aspect, although I meet people at work it’s not the same as it would be for those who go to university. I’m around people every day, but you can’t build up the friendships you could by going to study away.” Emily explained how she isn’t upset about not having the qualification, or the independence, but the social elements which is a different way of looking at it.


In society, it’s easy to let yourself be defined by what qualifications you have, or what you’re doing with your life. And the amazing thing about Emily is she hasn’t. She speaks about her life and her choices with such an energy. And although she didn’t go the traditional route, her future is just as bright. It’s important to remember that university isn’t for everyone and this isn’t necessarily a negative conclusion to come to. It’s about picking the route that works best for you and your interests. Like Emily, if travelling and working is what comes naturally to you, then why not pursue it?

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

RACISM ONLINE: HAVE TWITTER BEEN DOING ENOUGH?

By Jamie-Paige Tucker Twitter has been a popular form of social media since it launched in 2006, with its current 330 million users all around the world. But in more recent times, the application has

bottom of page