top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJamie-Paige

MY FINAL REFLECTION PIECE ON MY WORK EXPERIENCE AT BBC LOOK EAST.

My final week at BBC look east (west) and it started very much like last week. I drove to a different location, to watch some package filming take place ready for tonight’s show. I spent the morning out with Mo, watching her film and interview protesters involved in the climate protest march that was taking place in Cambridge today.


The March started at Shire Hall and then they walked 0.7 miles to Guildhall, in the market square. This protest was special today though, as it consisted of school children, shouting about their own futures, which are being affected by Climate change. They were extremely passionate and really wanted their opinions to be heard.


A sign made by a protestor

As you can imagine, this showed me some very challenging sides to broadcast media. As Mo pointed out to me, we were filming school children. It was about informing them of exactly what we were doing to gain 100% of their consent. I was walked through exactly how to do this, with Mo demonstrating exactly how you talk to the minors. As without their full consent it could have caused major issues for those here at the BBC.


I got to watch some ‘Down the barrel’ shots be filmed for BBC online, ready for them to discuss the protest in Cambridge, but also the many more that were going on around the UK today. I also learnt very quickly that in this profession, you need to be brave. Going into the heart of the protest to get the perfect shot may be risky, but it also is very important (depending on the piece).



I took much enjoyment out of watching these pieces be edited together. Over my time here I’ve watched a lot of editing, however it is definitely more exciting to watch the pieces you’ve seen be filmed, be put into a final finished product. It’s like a sneak-peak into what the audiences will see when it goes live at 18:30


The camera set up ready for the live

I then, got to return back to Guildhall later on this evening, when I followed Mo back to do the live 'top and tail'. This is where she spoke to Amanda back in the studio about the event and how it's not the first time Cambridge has been greeted by student protestors. This was the only live filming I got to experience during my 5 weeks and it was absolutely worth the wait.



It’s been interesting how different journalists approach different situations; I’ve been heavily taking tips and notes to work out exactly what sort of journalist I would like to be. Today, Ian from editing gave me a book, to study exactly how to be a “great broadcast journalist” so hopefully I’ll be able to take some inspiration from there.


The book I was gifted by Ian, the editor

My five weeks here has been very beneficial and I really have learnt a lot, I’m thankful to have had this opportunity and look forward to anymore that may come my way. I’ll be back at a BBC company in April as I’ve been kindly invited to Northampton BBC radio to work a two day placement there, so until then; this is my last BBC themed blog post.


60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

RACISM ONLINE: HAVE TWITTER BEEN DOING ENOUGH?

By Jamie-Paige Tucker Twitter has been a popular form of social media since it launched in 2006, with its current 330 million users all around the world. But in more recent times, the application has

bottom of page