top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJamie-Paige

PORTFOLIO 1 - SPORTS DURING COVID

A TV package created for my 3rd Year university portfolio for term 1.


Sports have been affected worldwide over the last 9 months, but which ones have been impacted the most by the spread of Covid-19? I spoke to two different young athletes to find out how their sport is currently being affected by the second lockdown.


REFLECTION: I did this package for national TV news channels in the UK. Some issues I faced while recording was that due to my topic, it required a lot of empty field shots which generally aren’t that exciting. Another issue was that one of the interviews had to be done via zoom which meant the quality wasn’t great, but also it didn’t leave a huge amount of room for editing. Another issue I noticed whilst editing was that the background noise in my Face to Face interview appears louder on the final edit than when I initially recorded it. It is a little distracting but not bad enough to scrap the interview. And it was too late to go back and refilm it unfortunately. However, I am pleased that I managed to construct a package around a topic that I’m not particularly the strongest on, and make it newsworthy. But also include shots of the rugby sports kit that was made during covid times to support the NHS, and remains topical for the piece. Next time I would preferably like to do all interviews face to face and in slightly quieter locations, and have images at are slightly more interesting / have more going on.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

RACISM ONLINE: HAVE TWITTER BEEN DOING ENOUGH?

By Jamie-Paige Tucker Twitter has been a popular form of social media since it launched in 2006, with its current 330 million users all around the world. But in more recent times, the application has

bottom of page